Wednesday, August 21, 2013

Dove Award Nominations Announced

The Gospel Music Association (GMA) announced today the nominees for the 44th Annual GMA Dove Awards. The awards show will take place on Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2013, at Allen Arena on the campus of Lipscomb University in Nashville. Here are five of the top categories announced today, which include 21 (!) nominees for Song of the Year and 10 for Inspirational Film of the Year:

Artist of the Year

Chris Tomlin, sixstepsrecords

Francesca Battistelli, Fervent

Lecrae, Reach Records

Tamela Mann, TillyMann

TobyMac, ForeFront Records

New Artist of the Year

Capital Kings, Gotee Records

Colton Dixon, Sparrow Records

for King & Country, Fervent

Rhett Walker Band, Essential Records

Tasha Cobbs, EMI Gospel

Song of the Year 

“10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord),” Matt Redman, (writers) Matt Redman, Jonas Myrin

“All I Can Do (Thank You),” Mikeschair, (writers) Mike Grayson, Ben Glover, David Garcia

“Break Every Chain,” Tasha Cobbs, (writer) Will Reagan

“Forgiveness,” Matthew West, (writer) Matthew West

“From My Rags To His Riches,” Devin McGlamery featuring Dailey & Vincent, (writers) Ernie Haase, Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey

“Greatly Blessed, Highly Favored,” Gaither Vocal Band, (writers) Larry Gatlin, Bill Gaither

“Hold On,” Canton Junction, (writer) Gerald Crabb

“I'm Learning,” Aaron & Amanda Crabb, (writers) Lee Black, Michael Fordinal, Kenna West

“Live Like That,” Sidewalk Prophets, (writers) Dave Fray, Ben McDonald, Ben Glover

“Need You Now (How Many Times),” Plumb, (writers) Tiffany Arbuckle Lee, Luke Sheets, Christa Wells

“Not For a Moment (After All),” Meredith Andrews, (writers) Meredith Andrews, Jacob Sooter, Mia Fieldes

“One Thing Remains,” Kristian Stanfill, (writers) Brian Johnson, Christa Black Gifford, Jeremy Riddle

“Redeemed,” Big Daddy Weave, (writers) Mike Weaver, Benji Cowart

“Sometimes I Wonder,” Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, (writers) Ernie Haase, Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey

“Take Him To The Place,” Aaron & Amanda Crabb, (writers) Aaron Crabb, Amanda Crabb

“Take Me to the King,” Tamela Mann, (writer) Kirk Franklin

“The Proof of Your Love,” for King and Country, (writers) Joel Smallbone, Fred Williams, Luke Smallbone, Ben Glover, Mia Fieldes, Johnathan Lee

“What The Blood Is For,” Jason Crabb, (writers) Ronnie Freeman, Tony Wood

“Where I Belong,” Building 429, (writers) Jason Roy, Jason Ingram

“Whom Shall I Fear (God of Angel Armies),” Chris Tomlin, (writers) Chris Tomlin, Ed Cash, Scott Cash

“Why Can't We,” The Isaacs, (writers) Rebecca Isaacs Bowman, Sonya Isaacs, Jimmy Yeary

Songwriter of the Year

Ben Glover

Benji Cowart

Matt Redman

Toby McKeehan

Wayne Haun

Inspirational Film of the Year

Amazing Love: The Story of Hosea, (director) Kevin Downes, (producers) Daryl LeFever, Rich Christiano

Christmas with a Capital C, (director) Helmut Schleppi, (producers) Michael Scott, James Chankin, Peter Yoder

Courageous, (director) Alex Kendrick, (producer) Stephen Kendrick

Jerusalem Countdown, (director) Harold Cronk, (producers) James Chankin, Michael Scott, Matthew Tailford, David A.R. White

Love Begins, (director) David S. Cass Sr., (producers) Erik Heiberg, Lincoln Lageson

MONUMENTAL: In Search of America’s National Treasure, (director) Duane Barnhart, (producers) Duane Barnhart, Kirk Cameron, Angela Alvarex

October Baby, (directors) Andrew & Jon Erwin, (producers) Dan Atchison, Justin Tolley, Jon Erwin, Andy Erwin

The Bible, (directors) Tony Mitchell, Crispin Reece, Christopher Spencer, (producers) Lightworkers Media, Hearst Productions

Travel the Road: Season One, (directors) Will Decker, Tim Scott, (producers) Will Decker, Tim Scott

Seven Days in Utopia, (director) Matt Russell, (producers) James Berman, Mark G. Mathis

“Congratulations to all the nominees of the 44th Annual GMA Dove Awards,” said Jackie Patillo, executive director of the Gospel Music Association. “The Doves celebrate the impact of all genres of Gospel music, recognizing talent, ministry and outstanding performances. The excitement and energy of the Dove Awards show is something we all look forward to—and this year will prove to be better than ever.

“We appreciate Lipscomb University hosting our awards, especially as we bring the show back to Music City. It is also an honor to have Mayor Dean be a part of today’s celebration,” continued Patillo.

Dove Awards will be handed out in 42 categories. The Dove Award nominations go to recordings released during the eligibility period of Nov. 1, 2011, through Apr. 30, 2013, and voted on by the members of the GMA. For a full listing go to

No comments: